Bar Council of Maharashtra & Goa

The Bar Council of Maharashtra and Goa in pursuance of Section 3(i)(ccc) was constituted by Advocates Act for the State of Maharashtra and Goa, Union Territories of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Union Territories of Daman and Diu. For all these States and Union Territories, the Bar Council is known as the Bar Council of Maharashtra and Goa. The Bar Council enrolls Advocates on its Roll and grant ‘Sanad’ / “Licence” to practice law in the above Territories. The Bar Council has a disciplinary jurisdiction over all the Advocates on the roll of Bar Council of Maharashtra and Goa. This Bar Council regulates and maintains the standards and professional conduct and etiquette for the Advocates and standards of legal education in its territory.

This Bar Council is represented by 25 Elected Members from the above Territory and Advocate General of each State is Ex-officio Member of the Bar Council. This Bar Council elects one representative to the Bar Council of India as its Member and also elects Chairman and Vice-Chairman for the Council. The tenure of the entire Bar Council is for 5 years and it is headed by the Chairman of the State Bar Council. The Secretary of the Bar Council is the Administrative Head of the Bar Council. There are 25 different Committees of the Council which look after the respective functions of the Bar Council.

The functions of the Bar Councils are -

This Bar Council mainly promotes the Continuous Legal Education Programme